Kitchen: Before and After

I finally have kitchen pictures to share! Sorry it’s taken me so long, and sorry that there’s been a real lack of content here for so long. Toddlers are very busy little people who make messes, which need to be cleaned up before pictures can be taken. Then I have a somewhat limited window of nap time in which to get the pictures taken, edited and a post written. So, these aren’t going to be drool worthy, beautifully styled afters unfortunately. I’m just not in a season of my life to pull that off right now, but the afters are still a pretty dramatic difference to the before if you ask me!

So, going back about 2 years ago (!!!) I posted these before pictures of our small kitchen when we first got the keys to the house.

kitchen1

Sorry this one is so dark!!

kitchen2

kitchen3

Oh my goodness, where to start? I haven’t looked at these pictures in ages, and it is making me feel super proud about what we have accomplished in this kitchen! The wall colour was definitely not our style, way too drab and it made the whole kitchen look dark. The ceiling was also painted the same colour as the walls for some reason, so that really didn’t help because it didn’t reflect any of the natural light that pours in through the sliding door to the deck.

The countertops were laminate, way too dark and had some pretty noticeable chips out of them. The sink was ancient and cracked and forever stained. There was also hardly any countertop space. It functioned, but it just wasn’t pretty. Now though? Well, here is how this little space is looking these days!

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

What a difference, right?!

There are still a few things that I would change in an ideal world. We had to get a new fridge last year because the old one died. We couldn’t find a white one that we liked, so we went with stainless thinking that whenever the time came to replace the stove and dishwasher we would go stainless there too. I don’t know if that will happen before we move to a larger house in a few years though. Both appliances work great, so even though they aren’t as aesthetically pleasing they will stay.

We also still have the ceiling fan and track lighting in here, which I conveniently cropped out of the after photos :) I think we’ll leave the fan because it does help when cooking or baking and the kitchen heats up, but I would really like to replace the track lighting at some point.

So, I thought I would give a little rundown of everything that was changed in here and I’ll try to give sources where I can remember them :)

The first thing we did was replace the countertops and the sink and faucet last March. The countertops are Corian Raincloud, which I think are a great alternative to marble. They have a similar look, but are obviously a fraction of the price and are pretty much zero maintenance. The sink is an undermount that came with the countertops through the local company we used to replace them, it’s nice and deep and is a single basin which I really prefer over double. The old sink was a double basin and it was so difficult to wash large pots and pans in there. The faucet is a Moen I believe.

The walls were painted Benjamin Moore Gray Sky and the ceiling is just a white Benjamin Moore ceiling paint. The lower cabinets were painted Benjamin Moore Soho Loft and we replaced the hardware, cup pulls and bar pulls from the Liberty line at Home Depot.

The tile backsplash is Daltile 2×4 white subway tile sheets from Home Depot and the grout colour is Platinum by Polyblend.

The butcher block top counters are from Ikea.

The open shelves were made using brackets bought at Home Depot and I believe pine boards stained with Minwax Dark Walnut.

The market sign above the back door was a DIY made using a pine board that I beat up a bit and stained, then plain wooden letters from Michael’s painted white and glued on.

And I think that’s it! Like I said, there are still a few changes that would be nice to make in here but overall I am beyond happy with how our little kitchen looks now. It’s so much more our style, so much brighter and fresher and just a happier place to cook and bake in!

Leave a Reply

