Bathroom: Before and (Mostly) After

Today I finally have another space in the “new” house (we’ve been here for almost 2 years already!) to share. This space has been mostly finished since December, but I just hadn’t gotten around to posting about it since it’s awkward to photograph (tight space, really difficult to photograph everything with natural light) and there are a few finishing touches that I just haven’t gotten around to yet (hello bare walls). However, since I haven’t posted in like 9 months I figured I better just start sharing what we do have done, or we’re going to be moving out of this place and I’ll only have shown 2 rooms :/

So, I present to you the main floor bathroom! It’s a cheater ensuite with our bedroom, and you can see a peek of that in one of the photos, but it’s since been painted and looks much different. Try to ignore the ugly there please :)

Just because the after is always so much more satisfying with a before, here is what this bathroom looked like when we moved in.

mainbath1

mainbath2

I forget how bad this really was until I look at these pictures. It was usable obviously, but not pretty AT ALL.

This is how the space is looking now!

1vanity

5sink

2showercurtain

3closet

I added board and batten to the walls, painted with Benjamin Moore Simply White in a semi-gloss finish. The walls above are painted Benjamin Moore Gray Sky. We replaced the vanity with a larger one with a quartz countertop that fills in that space much better, and is a proper counter height (we didn’t really realize how low the old one was until the new one went in). We also replaced the faucet and lights, towel ring and toilet paper holder in an oil rubbed bronze finish. I’m SO glad we did that, it looks so good against all of the white and light elements. The shower curtain was a Target clearance find a few years ago when the Targets in Canada closed (insert crying emoji here). We’re planning on replacing the door knobs with oil rubbed bronze eventually too.

I apologize for the crazy lighting and lack of photos. It was difficult to photograph everything consistently and when I was going through the photos I took to write the post, I decided that no one really needed to see a picture of the toilet haha I think these photos show off pretty well the changes that were made! This bathroom is so much prettier and happier now, and it was definitely worth all of the hard work it took to get it here!

Our next big project is going to be installing a subway tile backsplash in the kitchen next weekend. I’m SO excited for that, even though I have zero tiling experience. It’s going to be a bit of an adventure, but I think we can handle it. I’ll have to share that when it’s finished!

Leave a Reply

