This thing called Motherhood

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything, and this time I have a really good excuse. This time I was busy growing and giving birth to a little human.

WD_0012This little boy has absolutely consumed my life, in the best possible way. It hasn’t been easy these past few months, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. He has given my life a whole new meaning and it’s an absolute joy to spend my days with him.

WD_0083

I haven’t decided yet whether or not I’ll eventually share his birth story. I probably will because I’m open like that, but it is also a personal thing so maybe I’ll start writing the post and see how I feel. I’ll just sum it up by saying that it was a pretty straightforward labour and a pretty hellish delivery. He was 9lbs4oz at birth, so he really made his mama work to bring him into the world :)

WD_0038

It’s still incredible to me that this little person grew inside of me and is now a forever part of our lives. It amazes me everyday how much he’s growing and changing and becoming aware. As much as it makes me sad that he’s getting bigger and will someday not be a baby anymore, I get so excited seeing him reach milestones. His first smile, holding his head up, rolling onto his back and everything else that he’ll be doing soon. Seeing him hold a toy and shove it into his mouth makes me so proud and sure that I have the smartest baby ever :)

WD_0010

Seeing Ryan as a father has been incredible as well. There’s nothing like seeing the person you love most in the world holding the newest person you love most in the world. I can’t wait to see them become best buddies as Hunter grows up and can do all kinds of fun “boy stuff” with his dad.

WD_0088

It feels like I love him more everyday, which seems impossible because I already love him more than I could have ever imagined. It’s overwhelming sometimes, and it can be frightening to think of the fact that there are things in this world that I won’t be able to protect him from, but I know that all I can do is my best. I just have to give him as much love as I can and teach him as much as I can and hope that he grows up to be as incredible as I think he will.

WD_0109

There are lots of things left to do in the new house because we moved in only 10 days before Hunter made his appearance. We did get quite a bit unpacked before he came, but there was only so much decorating I could do at 9 months pregnant!

WD_0091

It’s been a getting a bit easier as he gets older to do a little here and there, especially when Ryan is home in the evenings and on weekends and can entertain him. I’m going to put together a post soon of the before pictures of the house, ideas that I have and then will update with some progress shots. I love sharing that stuff through the blog, so I’m definitely going to start making time to get back to it.

WD_0070

This parenting gig is the most amazing, most difficult, most rewarding, most challenging thing I’ve ever done in my life. It happened at a time that we weren’t expecting it to, but I think that if it hadn’t happened until after we were married like we had planned, we probably would have ended up with a different baby and I absolutely cannot imagine my life without this sweet little nugget.

Hunter Tummy White Blanket 4

 

Comments
6 Responses to “This thing called Motherhood”
  1. misscookas says:

    What an adorable little guy! :)

  2. Dad says:

    Great job sweetheart. Stop making your Dad cry. Lol xxxxooooxxxx infinity!

  3. This is so sweet! I love seeing Hunter updates :)

Leave a Reply

