Woodland Boy’s Nursery {Inspiration}

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably saw that Ryan and I revealed the sex of the baby in our cutting cake at our wedding last weekend….

1-Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 6.50.39 PMAs you can see, the cake revealed BOY!!

We’re so excited to be expecting a boy, I personally think they’re just as much fun to design a nursery for and shop for as girls are. We won’t be putting the nursery together for another couple of months since we’re just going to be starting our search for our first house now that we don’t have the wedding to focus on. I’m hoping that we’ll be moved in somewhere by mid June at the latest, and I’m sure that the nursery will be the first room that I’ll work on (even though realistically I know he won’t be sleeping in there for the first couple of months).

I’ve known for months that I want to do a woodland themed nursery, and when we found out the baby is a boy I started to get more concrete ideas of what I want in the nursery. I put together a very basic mood board using Olioboard to show what I’m thinking for the room:

woodlandboynurseryI want to have board and batten going up about 2/3 of the wall, which will be white to keep the room nice and bright. I think above that I want to paint navy blue. I want to keep the basics of the room fairly neutral so that it can grow with him and not need to be changed completely in a couple of years. I want the room to read as masculine as opposed to babyish, but still have a very fun and youthful vibe.

I’m pretty set on having a white, Jenny Lind style crib. I had actually found one for a steal on Kijiji a few months ago, but it sold the day that we were supposed to go look at it :( the version in my mood board is from Amazon for less than $200, and Babies R Us sells it for that price as well, so even if I can’t find one second hand it isn’t crazy expensive to buy new.

A comfy rocker/glider is a must, with somewhere to put up my feet. I’ll also have a side table I’m sure with a lamp. I want to incorporate grey and yellow as accent colours, so the curtains and rug will most likely be graphic prints in those colours. I want the woodland theme to be brought in with the accessories, so I’ll incorporate the white deer head, owl figurines and stuffed animals to bring out the theme.

I’m also planning on using a dresser with a changing pad for the change table. I want something that will still be functional after the change table isn’t necessary. I’ll probably bring in some wood tones throughout the room as well.

I’m so excited to put this room together, I wish I didn’t have to wait to do it!

Source List:

Jenny Lind style crib by DaVinci – amazon.com, $199

Deer Wall Decor – Land of Nod, $39

Layla Grayce Seco Swivel Glider – $1416 (I definitely will NOT be paying that, but I’d love to find something similar in my budget)

Animales Grafico Sham in Yellow – Land of Nod, $19

Knitted Graphite Pouf – CB2, $99.95

Kendall Flat-Weave Rug in Ink – One Kings Lane (no longer available :(, couldn’t find it elsewhere)

Kikkerland Coin Bank Owl – AllModern, $$17.23

Chester the Raccoon by Walnut Animal Society – Brika, $98

Comments
2 Responses to “Woodland Boy’s Nursery {Inspiration}”
  1. redagapeblog says:

    Love your plans! Congrats again. :)

Leave a Reply

