Rustic Wedding: DIY Boutennieres

1

I’m finally back with a project! Who thought I wasn’t going to post again for 2 months? :) Life has been kind of crazy lately, but in a really great way. No complaints here :)

Last week I put together the boutonnieres for the wedding and I LOVE how they turned out! Straight up honesty here, I don’t have a tutorial. I know, terrible. Who does a post on a project without explaining how they did it? I fairly closely followed this tutorial from Adventures in Dressmaking, so I didn’t feel that I needed to explain my process since that’s such a good tutorial. I actually wanted to do the whole feathers and buttons thing as well, but after wandering around in Michael’s for a solid 20 minutes with Ryan being bored out of his mind and not finding any pretty feathers or a nice selection of buttons, I went a slightly different route. The basics are still the same, and that’s what I think is great about this boutonniere style. It’s SO easy to customize it.

2

So, the slight differences in mine were that I used lace ribbon, only used one “button” on each and used some fake flowers instead of feathers. I also chose to put burlap on the back of the largest leaf shape just in case it was somehow visible. I used the cardboard from a raisin bran cereal box and didn’t want that to potentially show at all haha

The “buttons” were actually found in the bead section at Michael’s. They came in a strand of 5, which was exactly how many I needed, and I was able to just snip the elastic holding them together and use them individually. I also ended up using candy sticks I had on hand for the stems, instead of wooden skewers, which worked perfectly.

I’m so happy to have these finished and have one less thing on my to do list! We’re less than 5 weeks from the big day now so it’s crunch time! There are several small things to finish doing, but that sometimes feels more overwhelming than a few big things. I’m getting ridiculously excited to finally see this day come together and to finally be Ryan’s wife officially :) I’m going to have to start practicing signing my new married name and getting used to the sound of it…does anyone else find it strange that after almost 30 years of being someone, you’re now going to basically have a new identity? I’m traditional and have always known I’d take my husband’s last name, but I think it’s going to take some getting used to lol

Here’s one last pretty picture, staged with one of the lanterns we’ll be using in some of the centrepieces. $2 a piece at Dollarama during the summer! Can’t beat that deal :)

3

 

Linking to: Serenity Now

Comments
2 Responses to “Rustic Wedding: DIY Boutennieres”
  1. Morgan says:

    This is so adorable! That lantern is really pretty too!

    • Steph says:

      Thanks! I’m so happy with how they turned out :) Those lanterns were such a good find, I just wish I had been able to find enough for every centerpiece!

      >

Leave a Reply

