New Year, Big Changes!

Happy new year everyone! I haven’t posted since mid-November and it feels like that time just flew by. I had fully intended to post lots of crafty Christmas projects and whatnot in December, but at the end of November we were blessed with a MAJOR surprise!

announcementWe’re going to have a baby!!!

Talk about a shock! We definitely weren’t planning for this to happen now (although I guess we weren’t being very careful to make it not happen now haha), but we are so beyond excited and are so happy that this little one is on it’s way. Allow me to make this a bit of a personal post and tell you the story.

Ryan and I have been engaged for almost 2 years and have had most of our wedding planned and booked for about a year to a year and a half. The date was set for May 31st, 2014 and towards the end of November I was getting my mind back into planning mode since we had about 6 months to go. Our plan was to get married, buy a house and then start our family. I guess the universe had other plans in store for us!

I’ve always known that I wanted to be a mother, and Ryan has always known that he wanted to be a father. We both come from large, loving families and we just knew that we would have our own kids some day to add to the crazy that is our wonderful families. I have to be honest, I was starting to get a bit freaked out at the idea of “trying” to get pregnant. I was worried that we’d be putting pressure on ourselves and I also worried that maybe it wouldn’t happen right away, or at all. When you want something so much it can be scary to think that it may not happen when you want it to.

Like I said before, we weren’t trying to make this happen right now since we were so close to the wedding but there came a point where I started to suspect. I had had the flu for a few days in November and then just hadn’t felt right after that. I was late (sorry for the TMI!) but thought maybe being sick had thrown things off. Once it went to a week and a half I really started to think it could be a possibility. I felt very nauseous one day at work and decided that I would just take a test to put my mind at ease, mostly expecting it to come back negative. Imagine my complete shock when I got a big giant positive right away! I called Ryan at work and told him he needed to come home a bit early because I had to talk to him about something. He later said he immediately suspected that’s what it was, but obviously I wasn’t going to tell him over the phone! As soon as he walked in I just showed him the positive test and started to cry. We were both so happy and excited, but also didn’t know what to do about our wedding plans. After discussing it, we decided that postponing was not what either of us wanted so we’ve moved our wedding date up to March 8th. Yes, I’ll be pregnant at my wedding but I honestly don’t care! This baby has put so many things into perspective for me and having a “perfect” wedding just isn’t at the top of my priority list anymore. I still want everything to be beautiful and go well, but the most important thing will be that we end up married :)

So, for anyone who has been pregnant before I’m sure you can figure out why all of my plans for posting in December went out the window. I didn’t have it as bad as some women as far as morning sickness goes, but for a good 6 weeks I was nauseous pretty much all day everyday. It is draining. I was also very tired for several weeks, so when I wasn’t working all I wanted to do was lay on the couch or nap. This baby making stuff is hard work! I finally feel like I’m easing out of all of that and I’m almost out of the first trimester so I’m expecting to get my energy back and start feeling more like myself again.

This is going to be a crazy couple of months for us with a wedding in 2 months, wanting to buy a house before baby comes in July and then just preparing to become parents! This should mean lots of creative stuff going on over here so I want to share that on the blog. There will be some crafty wedding stuff I’m sure as well as hopefully decorating a new home. I’m most excited to do the nursery eventually, so that will for sure be shared!

I hope everyone had a great Christmas and New Year and that 2014 holds amazing things in store for all of you as well! :)

Comments
11 Responses to “New Year, Big Changes!”
  1. lacey says:

    I am over the moon for you and ryan! your little one already looks as cute as can be! xox

  2. Oh my gosh your story totally brought tears to my eyes!!!!! I am so freaking excited for you and I think it’s awesome that you’re moving up your wedding. Seriously…. SO happy for you!!!! I can’t wait to follow along with all of your big, HUGE things that are happening this year!!!!!

    • Steph says:

      Thanks Thalita! It’s a lot of changes in a short period of time, but we’re so ready for it! I completely believe that things happen when they’re meant to, so I guess this little person has a reason for coming now :)

      >

  3. Debbie says:

    A great big Comgratulations to the 3 of you!!! Looking forward to reading your blog and following your journey into wedded bliss and motherhood. Make sure you get enough rest though. :-)

  4. A great big CONGRATULATIONS to you! Like the rest of the posters have already said I can’t wait to follow along on this exciting journey through your blog. As a mother of 6, advice I will give you is to get a lot of rest, and you are right, the second trimester (I think) is the most enjoyable one. Pamper yourself, you deserve it! Best wishes to you both! :)

Leave a Reply

