Hiding Ugly Electronics

This is a pretty short and sweet post to share a quick little project I knocked out the other day. I’ve been slacking in the projects department lately, but I’m now on vacation for the next week (wooo!!) so hopefully I’ll be able to get some stuff done. My little sister is also getting married next Saturday (!!!) so the end of the week will be busy/emotional/amazing :)

So, on to hiding those ugly electronic devices. We all have them, and they’re all ugly. You’d think someone would have come up with a way to make them more attractive but alas, they are what they are. We recently changed around our cable and internet package and when the guy came to switch out the boxes that we needed, we were “upgraded” from an unobtrusive little black modem to this beast:

1Yeeeeeaaaaahhhhh……super not cute. I don’t know what the people at Rogers were thinking when they came up with this one. It’s on the extreme end of the ugly electronics spectrum. I was not very impressed, but then while browsing Pinterest one day I came across an idea of hiding electronics inside of storage boxes. I didn’t pin it so I don’t even know who to give the original credit to, but I remembered it for future reference. I found a plain black box at Michael’s on clearance for $2.50 and knew that I could jazz it up a bit and use it to hide the hideous modem.

I had to cut a section out of the back because the modem had too much junk in it’s trunk was a bit too big to completely fit in the box. This also allowed the cords to come out of the back and it allows any heat the modem creates to vent out the back.

2I wanted to make the box a little cuter so I just used some gold craft paint and painted around the rim of the lid and put polka dots on the box. I just used the end of a pen and eyeballed it :)

3SO. MUCH. BETTER.

We have gold going on in a few other places in the living room so the box isn’t totally out of place. I’m quite happy with my quick little fix for that ugly beast of a modem. This idea probably wouldn’t work for anything that has sensors on it, like the cable box or a game console (unfortunately….) but those devices are all black at our house so they don’t bother me as much.

I’ll hopefully be back in a few days with some more stuff to share!!

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Hiding Ugly Electronics”
  1. redagapeblog says:

    Why aren’t electronics better looking? I’m sure there’s a market out there for pretty electronic items. Anyway, cool idea. Have fun at your sisters’ wedding. How exciting!! :)

  2. How on earth did you eyeball all of those polka dots?!?! It looks amazing!!!!

Leave a Reply

