Dollar Store Scarf Fall Wreath

I added to my embarrassingly large wreath collection yesterday….I don’t know what it is about wreaths, but I find myself making a few new ones each year. I think because they’re easy to put together and can be fairly inexpensive to make if you’re crafty with the materials that you use.

I’ve started adding some fall decor to the house and I decided that I wanted a new wreath for the front door. I just made one last year using a pool noodle as the wreath form, but I wasn’t smart when I made it and I hung it right from the spot where I had duct taped the ends together. After hanging on the door for a few months, it was sagging in that spot and became egg shaped :( I put it back up the other day but I really hated how it looked so I decided to make a new one! I’m happy that I did though because this year I want to decorate with more neutrals and golds and textures as opposed to the standard yellow, orange and red. I still love those colours for fall, but I wanted to switch it up. If you follow me on Instagram (steph_btn) then you caught a peek of this yesterday, but here’s the whole scoop on it!

I started out with a strange straw wreath form that I got at Value Village for $2.

1It wasn’t pretty, but I knew I was going to cover it so it didn’t matter.

I had found some cute plaid scarves for $2 at the dollar store a couple of days ago and thought that the purple one would be perfect for a fall wreath. I love the combination of dark purple and gold and think it’s a nice fall colour scheme alternative to the usual spice colours. So, I just folded the scarf in half lengthwise so it was a bit thicker and wrapped it around the wreath form, hot gluing it in place once I got to the end of the scarf.

2I had also picked up some fall coloured berry things from the dollar store and I just spread them all apart and spray painted them gold. This is what they looked like pre-paint.

3I used Krylon’s Short Cuts Hobby Craft Enamel in Golf Leaf which I had picked up at Michael’s several weeks ago for less than $3 after my 40% off coupon. I couldn’t find it on the Michael’s website, but I found a link for it on Amazon.

The colour of this stuff is gorgeous and it has a beautiful finish to it. It’s perfect for smaller projects where you don’t need much paint and it actually smells really good! The only thing I didn’t like about it was the nozzle. The paint came out fine but it hurt my finger after a couple of minutes to keep pressing it down.

After the berries were dry, I pulled the gold M off of my wreath from last year and arranged everything on the wreath and used hot glue to hold it. I put a gold ribbon on the back for hanging it and put it on the door. I love how it looks!

4

5

6Isn’t the gold and purple such a beautiful combination? Before Ryan and I set a spring wedding date, I had always loved the idea of a fall wedding and had thought this colour combo would be perfect. Rich jewel tones are always classic in the fall, and purple just happens to be my favourite colour!

Who else is feeling the gold love lately? It’s funny because when I was younger I always wore silver and NEVER would have thought that I’d love gold as much as I do now. It’s interesting how our tastes change as we grow up. Maybe in 5 years I won’t really like it again but for now I’m loving incorporating it into our home and my wardrobe!

Linking to: It’s Overflowing, Classy Clutter, Tatertots & Jello

Comments
6 Responses to “Dollar Store Scarf Fall Wreath”
  1. Gorgeous looking wreath – I love the unusual colour scheme.

  2. that is super cute. I am not loving my fall wreath, and want to do something whispier. this, I like. good call with the gold!

  3. I LOVE the idea of using scarves!! So creative! And the purple with the gold is a stunning combination. Thank you so much for sharing this at the Get Your DIY On Fall Wreath Challenge this week! Hope to see you back next week with a thrifty upcycled project!

Leave a Reply

