DIY Vintage Style Apron

Like I mentioned last week, my sister’s bridal shower was on the weekend, so today I want to share the handmade gift that I made for her. I was running around like a crazy person the morning of the shower making sure that everything was set up, so I only got 4 not so great photos. One of the other bridesmaids took lots of pictures that day, so hopefully I can steal some from her to share with you all!

So, I decided a while ago that I really wanted to make my sister a vintage style apron. I thought, what better way to start a woman off in married life than a cute apron? A bit outdated and old fashioned? Maybe. But my sister has a diploma in culinary management and is a kick ass chef, so the apron was really suited to her. I chose a vintage style since it really suits her personality and style and they’re having a vintage vibe to the wedding as well.

I searched for a while for a free pattern for a vintage style apron and was coming up empty handed. I found several patterns but the ones I really liked I would have had to pay for. It wasn’t a huge deal, they were maybe $10 at the most, but I was trying to save myself some money :) I ended up finding a great tutorial via The Dating Divas that I just altered a bit to fit what I wanted. I won’t share step by step instructions on how to make the apron since the above tutorial does a good job of that, but I will point out where I altered things and what I wish I had done differently.

So, first up here is a picture of the entire finished apron! (The pictures aren’t good, I apologize. I took them about 2 minutes before I wrapped it up lol)

1

So as you can tell from this picture, I changed a few things from the original tutorial that I used. I cut the neckline into a sweetheart shape instead of straight across and I rounded the pocket, made it smaller and put it to the side. I also embroidered her new married name onto the pocket (which I blurred out for her privacy).

2

I really love the little ruffle along the bottom. It’s cute and feminine but it’s a flatter ruffle so it isn’t overdone. You can also see better here how I finished off the apron with the pink stitching. I thought the contrast was nice against the white.

4

A better view of the neckline…it was a bit tricky sewing this neckline, so it did bunch up a bit. I think if I had made it a more subtle sweetheart it may have turned out a bit smoother. I’d also like to point out here that the length for the neck strap in the tutorial was too long so I had to shorten it, so if you try this out make sure you check the length that you need for that.

3

And a close up of the pocket. I love the little ruffle on this too, although the length was off for this as well. That was because I changed the shape of the pocket and didn’t account for that originally, so I did end up piecing two ruffles together but you really can’t tell. I also wish that I had been smart and used a tighter zig zag stitch on this like I did all around the edge of the apron. When I realized this though the pocket was already on and the backing was sewn on as well so I just left it. It would have looked better though if the stitching on the pocket matched the stitching around the edges of the apron. For embroidering the name, all I did was lightly write it on with pen and then I just used regular thread and a needle and hand sewed it on following the letters.

So there you have it, a DIY vintage style apron! I had gotten 1m of the white fabric and a 1/2m of the floral fabric which worked out to just enough. It would have been better to have a touch more of the floral but I made it work :) My sister liked it and I liked that I was able to give her something handmade and personal. I was a bit scared going in because all I’ve really done in the past are pillow covers and hemming curtains, but this was super easy to do and I think even beginner sewers could tackle it.

Comments
2 Responses to “DIY Vintage Style Apron”
  1. redagapeblog says:

    Such a sweet, thoughtful gift. I love handmade….extra special. :)

Leave a Reply

