Thrift Store Finds

I decided to do a little thrift store shopping this morning, and I’m so glad that I did! I got some awesome stuff, and didn’t spend much for what I got, so I wanted to share my finds with you guys!

Everything that I got is in this picture, and I only spent $35 for everything!

1So a little run down on a few of the things pictured above: the 4 milk glass vases will be used for decor for my sister’s bridal shower in August. We’re doing a vintage theme so I thought putting single stems of flowers in each vase in groupings would be pretty on the food tables. I’m also planning on working them into the centerpieces at our wedding next May, so I love that I’m getting double duty out of these! I already have a few and I’ll need some more, but they’re typically only $1-$2 per vase so I’m not breaking the bank on them.

The little dish was only $2 and it’s Blue Mountain Pottery, which I’ve shared before how much I love it. I’m not 100% sure yet where it will go, but probably the living room somewhere as we have lots of blues going on in there.

The candlestick and glass plate are going to be joined to make a cake stand type of thing. I’m planning on making a few more and using them to display the food at my sister’s shower and then as cupcake displays for our wedding. Again, double duty decor. Love it.

Here are some close ups of the items I got really excited about!

2This little glass lamp was only $5 which I thought was a heck of a deal. I do need to clean it up and put a shade on it, but I put a bulb in it and tried it out and it works!! Always a plus, since not all thrift stores have a spot where you can test out the lamps before you buy them. I think she’s going to live in the guest room :)

3The mirror. Ohhh, the mirror!! I went to a few places downtown that I hadn’t been to before, and the one store was a total cluttered gold mine! I will for sure be going back there for some larger furniture pieces some day, but today this little beauty came home with me. I feel like it’s crying out for a glossy black makeover, and I’m going to try it out over our bed. Hopefully it isn’t too big for that spot, but I’ll find somewhere for it if it is. So pretty.

4This lamp was by far the most exciting thing that I found today. I actually had walked away from the lamp area after I found the glass one but then cruised by again a few minutes later and spotted this baby. I loved it immediately, and then I saw the price….$2.99!!! Pardon me?! I didn’t know where I would put it, but I was not leaving it behind for that price. I immediately went to Walmart and bought the proper type of lightbulb for it and when I got home I was really hoping that it worked. Guess what? It does!! $3 for the lamp, $2.50 for the bulb. A whopping $6 investment with taxes. I still don’t know where it’s going to go, but I can totally see it in a library space in a future home (which is for sure going to happen).

So those are the treasures that I found today!! I’ll be sure to post about where/when/how I use these pieces in the future. I’m also going to try to get the tutorial up for the picture ledges. So bad, I know. Should have done that a week ago. I also want to do a post updating you guys on how our garden is looking. It’s really filled in over the last month and I love the colour that it’s added to the front of the house. So much better than the mass of jungle grass that was there.

Has anyone else found any awesome thrift store pieces lately? I’m on the hunt for a dresser, but don’t want to pay too much. Hopefully I come across something soon!

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Thrift Store Finds”
  1. Valerie says:

    I love the green dish! I just adore glass!! And green is the best. :D

  2. Valerie says:

    Oops, it’s ceramic?? Love that too! haha

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] found a home for one of my thrift store lamps, and then just stole a few things from other spots to stage it a little bit. The desk is going to […]



Leave a Reply

