Daddy’s Girl

Ok, I know that this post is a couple of days late but I couldn’t let Father’s Day go by without a shout out to my amazing dad. Dad, when you read this make sure you have some tissues handy. It’s not my intention to make you weep, but I know how you get when it comes to your girls :)

I think I’ve always known that I have an awesome dad, but it’s one of those things that you don’t really realize or think about until you’re old enough to understand that not everyone is lucky enough to have a great dad, and some people have their dads taken away from them way too soon. The older I get, the more I understand just how special my dad is and I can’t even put into words how much I appreciate everything that he does for me.

My dad has always made my sister and I priority number one, and I know without a doubt that there’s nothing he wouldn’t do for us. Now that we’re grown women with men that will soon become our husbands to look after us I know that he feels like his time as care taker is coming to an end, but there’s honestly nothing like a dad to his daughter and it’s something that can never be replaced. My dad has told me many times that when I have my own children I’ll understand what it feels like to be a parent and how hard it can be to have your kids far away from you and how much you love them. I’d like to respond to that by saying that only a daughter with an awesome dad can ever know what it feels like to have a man in your life who you know will never let you down, will always be there to pick up the pieces and who would drive 3 hours in the middle of the night just to comfort his daughter whose heart has been broken (that one is a true story folks).

Not only is my dad giving and loving, he’s also hilarious. I think everyone who knows him likes him, and a lot of the time he’s just naturally one of the funny guys in the room. He’s so much fun to be around and I love that he doesn’t really take things too seriously. He can be a total goofball, and I love that about him. It really is a great thing when you can joke around and have a good time with your dad.

As I get closer to being a married woman and starting a family of my own, I think more often of what it has taken for my dad to do what he has done all of these years to make sure that my sister and I have always had what we’ve needed. He has more than helped out financially, especially through those college years that can be so expensive, but he’s also always provided us with love and support. He worked his way up through different jobs to always make sure we were taken care of; he worked on the always dreaded math homework because he was actually good at it; he’s given me advice on more occasions than I can remember, but it’s always been just that – advice, never orders or demands. I also feel like he set an example for us as to how a man should treat his wife and children, and I feel like that is now reflected in the men we have chosen to be our husbands and the fathers of our future children. That I believe is one of the best things a dad can give to his daughter – the knowledge of what a hard working, caring, devoted husband and father looks like. I believe that every girl deserves to know what that is, and I’m so lucky that started with my dad.

So Happy Father’s Day to one of the most amazing men I know. I’ll never be able to truly explain to you just how lucky I feel to have you as my dad. I love you.

Leave a Reply

