Let It Snow

Ok, I don’t really want more snow but it’s a much catchier and appropriate title than “winter wreath” :)

The Christmas decor is coming down, and that meant that our front door would be wreath-less. I have a little snowman that I’ve hung on the door in the winter for the last 5 years or so, but he was a dollar store find and I decided that it was time for an upgrade.

I found everything to make my wreath at Michael’s, and they have some good deals on right now so it was fairly inexpensive. I spent about $16 on everything and then used some stuff I already had (although to be honest this wreath cost me $0 because I had gift cards from Christmas. Does my family know me or what?) Regardless, for someone starting from scratch this would be a fairly inexpensive project if you got the same good deals that I did.

I got a grapevine wreath (on for $4.99!) and wrapped some sparkly blue tulle around it. Then I decorated it with fabric flowers that I made, a 75¢ wood decal, 75¢ sparkly silver pinecones and some pearl spray that was originally $5.99 but was 50% off. Man, I love a deal :)

Here’s how my wreath turned out!

1-IMG_1

The “let it snow” was a 75¢ clearance find at Michael’s. The pattern was a very small black and white check, which I thought was too dark for the wreath. I lightened it up a bit by just giving it one coat of white craft paint. You can still see the texture of the check, but the letters stand out better against the dark grapevine.
1-IMG_3

The fabric flowers I made by using the same technique I used to make the ruffles on these pillows, except I kept the thread to one side of the strip of fabric instead of down the middle. Once I had my desired amount of gathered fabric I just sewed the two ends together. Then I wound some jute into a spiral and hot glued it on, then glued a button in the middle. Super easy, and free since I had everything on hand to make them. (And a little secret…the white material is just pieces leftover from some bed sheets that I turned into curtains!)

1-IMG_4

1-IMG_5

1-IMG_6

To hang it, I took some more of that leftover sheet material and braided it into a sort of rope. I hot glued it to the back of the wreath, and there you have it.

I love how this wreath turned out! I’m really not a fan of winter, but the cool colours are right up my alley and looking at this pretty wreath on the front door every time I come home may make it a bit more manageable. (Yeah right, who am I kidding….lol)

Who else makes their own wreaths? Anyone actually a fan of winter?

Linking up to: Serenity Now, Crafty Texas Girls, The Ironstone Nest

Comments
7 Responses to “Let It Snow”
  1. Leah says:

    This looks fantastic! I love the homemade flowers too. :)

  2. super cute! perfect for after_ Christmas_ but_ still_ winter. :)
    I made a wreath today, posting it mid next week. took forEVER but worth it!

  3. cassie says:

    such a happy wreath! i love the little flowers that give it a happy touch!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

