Best of 2012 and Goals for 2013

It’s hard to believe that another year is gone. 2012 was a pretty great year for me…I got engaged, moved in with the Mr. and my sister also got engaged. There were a lot of big firsts this year and our family has some exciting stuff happening in 2013 and 2014 and I’m really looking forward to it all. There was crappy stuff as well (isn’t there always?) but overall 2012 was a fantastic year, so I’m a bit sad to see it go. I know that 2013 is only going to be better though, so I’m really excited to see what’s in store for these next 12 months.

I started this little blog of mine on January 1, 2012 and the last year of keeping up with it has actually been a lot of fun for me. It’s not an income generator, and it’s not a well known blog by any means, but it’s a fun place for me to share my creative endeavours while hopefully giving some inspiration to a few people. It was definitely very cool for me to have several of my projects and crafts featured on a couple of other blogs through link parties, and now some of my stuff is even floating around on Pinterest, which is very cool. I want to continue to have fun with this blog in the coming year and that’s about as far as my plans for it go.

A lot of other home decor blogs that I read have been sharing “best of” posts the last few days, and although my blog has less than 9000 views overall (kind of pitiful, but they’re views nonetheless!), I thought it would be fun to round up the 10 posts that have gotten the most views. Here they are in order:

1. I love cardboard!

This one is pretty surprising to me. I think I’ve done other things this past year that are much better than these cheapo cardboard and tinfoil letters, but I get a lot of traffic from people searching how to make cardboard letters. Who would have thought?

2. DIY Sunburst Mirror

This is one of my favourite projects. It was relatively inexpensive, easy to make and I feel like it makes a big impact on the wall over our TV.

3. Ombre Coffe Filter Wreath

This was a fun little summer project that was super easy and cheap, and although my food colouring ombre dye faded in about a week, I still think it was a smart idea :)

4. Spray Paint Love Part 1: Mason Jars

I’m a little surprised that this one is as high as it is in terms of views, but I guess Mason jars are fairly popular right now so it kind of makes sense.

*Unfortunately something happened to the pictures in this post and they’re not showing up. They’re all on my laptop with the fried hard drive, so sorry about that :(

5. Dresser Makeover No. 1

This was the first large piece of furniture that I painted, and I still LOVE how it turned out. I titled it No. 1 because I have another boring old dresser that still needs some love, so that will be titled No. 2 whenever I get around to it :)

6. Chevron Painted Backsplash

This was definitely a popular one when I posted it and it’s the most commented on post I have. I’m still enjoying the little bit of extra flair it gives to our kitchen, but I’m actually getting the itch to change it up! We’ll see if that happens though….after 6 back breaking hours of painting it, I don’t know if I could stand to cover it up lol

7. Living Room: Before and After

The day I posted this one was the day I had the most page views in one day all year, so I guess people were pretty interested in our living room transformation initially lol the pictures in this post are pretty terrible so I apologize for that. I’ll try to take better pictures soon and do an update.

8. Coffee Table Makeover

I actually have an idea in mind to transform this coffee table again, so we’ll see if I can make that happen this year!

9. Love Birds

It’s not hanging in our kitchen/dining area anymore, but I do still love this little painting that I did. It will find a new home somewhere!

10. DIY Upholstered Memo Board

A simple little project that holds some special cards from a special time in our lives :)

So there you have it. The top 10 posts from Building This Nest in 2012. Thank you so much to everyone who has visited my tiny little piece of blogdom, I really do appreciate all of the kind comments and visits :) I promise to have more fun stuff to post about in 2013!

Now, as far as goals for 2013 go, I’m not really a resolutions type person. I never really seem to make anything stick, so I usually don’t set out hard core goals for myself, but I do like to have ideas of things that I’d like to see come together at the beginning of a new year. I have some home goals for 2013, so I thought I’d share those.

•Laundry room makeover – this one is kind of a biggie. Our laundry room is pretty gross right now, and I’d really like to clean it up. I have some ideas for how to do it on a budget, so hopefully I can get started on it soon and share those details!

•Basement bathroom makeover – we have a half bath in the basement, which is nice to have, but it’s pretty gross (basements can tend to be kind of nasty I guess). The thing is, the hallway and the large room in the basement are both in good shape with fresh paint and new carpet, but the laundry room and bathroom down there weren’t high on the priority list when we first moved in. I’m hoping that 2013 will see this little half bath turned into something that isn’t just a bathroom suitable for men who aren’t picky haha

•Craft room organization – this is one I’ve sort of started and stopped on a few times since we moved in. The basics of the room are in place, but there’s pretty much zero organization when it comes to all of my supplies and I need to figure out a way to make this room function better for all of my project stuff.

•Get the outside areas into better shape – I did a pretty good overhaul on our back patio this past summer, but alas it did not stay looking pretty for long. I’m really good at ripping everything out and planting pretty flowers initially, but I’m pretty terrible at keeping on top of weeds. I also didn’t touch our front garden this past spring/summer and it was pretty sad looking. In the spring I’d like to figure out a plan for sprucing up the front and back in a way that’s easy to keep up with but also looks nice.

I also have a lot of smaller projects and ideas that I’d like to work on, so I’ll share those as I check them off my list!

Happy New Year to everyone, I hope 2013 brings only great things for all of you! :)

Leave a Reply

