Reindeer Head Silhouette

I’ve been continuing to work on some Christmas goodies to add to our holiday decor this year, however slow it’s been. Other things have been taking precedence lately, like the fact that I went shopping for a wedding dress on Saturday :) I found the perfect gown for me and I can’t wait until I can put it on again! My mom, sister, mother-in-law to be and one of my bridesmaids were there and it was a fantastic experience that I’ll recap in a separate post (without giving anything away of course!!)

The little project I have to share today is a reindeer head silhouette that was super easy to do. It would be completely customizable to the colours that you decorate with, and you could do any silhouette really. I chose the reindeer because I’m putting some more rustic elements into our decor this year. I was inspired by this reindeer head silhouette, but chose to do mine a bit differently.

I started with a plain piece of wood. Mine was just a piece of laminated MDF board that was left here from the previous tenants. There were several of them, I’m pretty sure they were shelves on a piece of furniture at some point. Any spare piece of wood will do, or even a canvas would work great.

Next I gave it several coats of white semi-gloss paint. I knew I wanted it to be white and I have paint left from my dresser makeover, so I just used that. I used a cheap foam brush to apply it, which did leave streak marks, but I was ok with that because it added some subtle texture. If you want a smooth finish, a small foam roller would work best.

Then I chose a piece of scrapbook paper that was a pattern and colour that I liked. I Googled “reindeer head silhouette” and chose the one I liked the best. Then I just free hand drew my reindeer head onto the back plain side of the scrapbook paper, using the Google image as a reference, and cut it out. After the paint had dried, I Mod Podged my paper reindeer head onto the centre of the painted piece of wood. I put Mod Podge onto the board first to stick the head down then Mod Podged over top of it to seal it onto the board. When that was dry I just used white glue to outline the head and sprinkled gold glitter onto the glue and let it dry overnight. I brushed off any excess glitter, and it was done!!

The edges were rough and not laminated, so I trimmed it with some jute to add a rustic touch.

I threw some fake cranberries and some candles in front of it to cheer it up a bit, but I’ll be sure to post how I actually incorporate it into our decor once I decorate.

I really love it turned out, and it was completely free except for the Mod Podge. That was about $7, but I have a full bottle left to use on tons of future projects! I’m all about the cheap and cheerful this holiday season :)

Linking up!

Hyphen Interiors, hi sugarplum!, The Ironstone Nest, Thrifty Decor Chick

4 Responses to “Reindeer Head Silhouette”
  1. Sarah says:

    This is so cute! The glitter outline is the perfect finishing touch.

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thanks! I totally copied the idea from Kristy at Bliss, but I guess I did end up giving it my own twist. And I guess that’s why bloggers blog, to give inspiration, right? :)

  2. Kristy Swain says:

    Looks great! I especially love the jute touch. You definitely gave it your own twist. Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

