Chai Spiced French Toast with Warm Blueberry Sauce

This morning I had a craving for french toast, and I decided to try flavouring it with chai tea. It was very tasty, although I think I’d like to try it again another time using a different brand of chai tea. I’m not sure what brand it is that I have on hand, but I think using a brand like Tazo or something else that has more of a spicy chai flavour would have been even better. It tasted good, but didn’t have as much of that chai spice as I would have liked.

Anyway, here is what you will need if you’d like to try this out yourself:

I only made 2 pieces, but had enough egg mix for probably 4 pieces. All of my measurements are approximate since I just eyeballed it :)

•1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk because that’s what we have)

•2 chai tea bags

•2 eggs

•2 slices of bread

•cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to taste

•1/2 cup frozen blueberries

•1/4 cup water

•1/4 cup maple syrup

•1/4 tsp. cornstarch

Heat up your milk first. I just put it in a microwave safe mug and heated it for 1 1/2 minutes in 30 second increments. When it’s nice and hot, put both tea bags in and let it steep for at least 5 minutes, even longer is better. You want to really infuse the milk with the chai flavour. While that’s steeping, get started on your blueberry sauce.

In a small saucepan, combine frozen blueberries, water and syrup. Cook on medium heat for 3-5 minutes. It should be bubbling. Add the cornstarch to thicken it up. If you want a thicker sauce, add a little more cornstarch. When it’s the consistency you want, cover it and set aside.

Now that your chai milk has been steeping for at least 5 minutes, press the tea bags between 2 spoons to get all of that chai flavour out. I also did this several times while it was steeping, just to make sure I got the most amount of flavour out of the tea bags.

In a small bowl, combine the eggs and the chai flavoured milk. Add cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to taste. I used about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. vanilla. Whisk this all together until it is thoroughly combined.

Soak both sides of your bread in the egg mixture and place in a hot pan or on a griddle. I have a griddle that I love using for pancakes and french toast since it’s nice and big and is totally non-stick for those foods. If you’re using a regular frying pan, maybe add a little butter or cooking spray just to make sure your bread doesn’t stick.

Once your toast is cooked to your liking, plate it up and sprinkle a little cinnamon or icing sugar on it to make it pretty. I also put my blueberry sauce into a small ramekin so that I could dip the toast into it. Feel free to pour that deliciousness all over it if you like!

I feel like the blueberry sauce is what really made this good. I’m definitely going to try it again with a more spicy variety of chai tea and just use regular maple syrup and see what that tastes like. Despite that, this was a very tasty version of french toast!!

*Linking to Serenity Now*

Comments
2 Responses to “Chai Spiced French Toast with Warm Blueberry Sauce”
  1. Leah says:

    French toast, chai, and blueberries?! This sounds like an unbeatable combo! Thanks for the inspiration. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

    • nwbnstr says:

      It was seriously delicious!! Just make sure you use a Chai tea with a strong flavour. I wish mine had more of a spicy Chai flavour. The blueberry sauce was SO good though!

Leave a Reply

