Quick Closet Organization

Our front hall closet has been driving me a little batty lately. The shoes were slowly beginning to take over, and the coats were starting to fight for dominance over the shoes. Throw in the out of season wreaths that were living in there and it was complete closet mayhem. Okay, maybe not complete mayhem (I’m sure there are far more disorganized closets out there), but it was on a slippery slope to nowhere good and I finally started to take back the closet yesterday.

Here is what it was looking like before my quick little clean up:

Do you think we have a shoe problem in this house?? Umm, yeah….just a bit. Purging the old and unworn shoes is still on my list of things to do, but I didn’t get to it yesterday when I did this because I waited until 30 minutes before I had to leave for work to do this. Yes, I’m just a bit of a procrastinator.

Anyway, all I did was move the hanging shoe organizer over to the other side of the closet (what was I thinking when I initially put it all the way over on the side where it’s almost totally inaccessible?), banished the wreaths to the craft room to sit for a month before I put them away anywhere, moved all of the coats over to where the shoe organizer used to be, bought a second shoe rack to stack on top of the existing one and sorted out the stuff in the baskets and made chalk board labels for them.

My chalk board labels are slightly ghetto, I just made them using whatever I could find in my craft stash. They ended up being 4 large popsicle sticks attached together by hot gluing 2 halves of another stick to the back.

Then I just painted them with chalkboard paint (that I found at Dollar Tree FYI) and used clothespins that I already had to clip them to the baskets.

It wasn’t a huge project, but it visually made such a difference in the closet:

So much better I think! I’d still like to add a shelf above the baskets since there’s a lot of wasted space up there, and I know that we have stuff that could find a new home in here if there were a place for it! I’m also thinking about maybe doing something fun and colourful to the walls on the inside of the closet, but there’s also a good chance that I’ll just leave it since there are other things I’d rather do than the inside of a closet that barely anyone sees. I also have a plan for the outside of the doors, so I’ll share that when it finally happens!

Such a small change, but it’s little things like this that make me happy :)

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Quick Closet Organization”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] we’ll keep it that way too, since our front hall closet is still doing well after it’s little overhaul it got a few months ago. I really do think that giving things a specific place helps to keep […]



Leave a Reply

