Kitchen/Dining Area: Before & After

Today I’m going to share before and after pictures of our kitchen and dining area. Since we live in a townhouse, our kitchen is a small galley style that is directly open to the dining area. There are still a few projects that I want to complete in this space, but it’s done enough for me to share :) I apologize for the wacky lighting, it was an overcast day when I took these pictures, so some photos have lights on and in some they’re off.

This is what this area looked like back in January….

That bookshelf was a left over from the previous tenants and is still around. It is looking better, but a makeover is in it’s future. The Mr. was also giving me a little show there ;)

I took these pictures the day we started tearing up the carpets, so that’s why there’s stuff all over the counters. I don’t want to pull up carpets again. Ever.

There’s the Mr.’s cute little bum again :)

After much hard work, here is our kitchen and dining area now…

Read about my blue painted mason jars in this post.

Here’s a closer look at some of the stuff on our shelves…

I got these gorgeous canisters for my birthday from my wonderful future mother-in-law. They’re meant for flour and sugar, but I haven’t gotten around to filling them yet. It doesn’t bother me though, because they’re beautiful just like that.

My mom let me have this amazing old flour sifter that she had, which I believe was my grandma’s before that. It may have even been my great-grandmother’s at one point, I’m not really sure exactly how old it is. I love the vintage vibe of it!

I love my tea, so I fancied up some old spaghetti sauce jars (inspiration from here) so now they can be out on the open shelving and we don’t have to look at ugly, mismatched tea boxes.

I looooooove this chandelier! My mom and I got it at a surplus store in my hometown for $50!!! Talk about a steal. I’ve already informed her that it will be coming with us to any future homes. I even had the electrician who installed it leave some extra wire and chain in case we need it to be lower some day in another dining room haha

Read more on my door organizer here.There’s more on the utensil canister here. I would also like to change the light fixture in the kitchen area, but who knows if that will happen. I’m all about making this a comfortable home for us, but I won’t be shelling out big bucks for a rental. I’ll have to put my creative cap on for that one…

Those are old fruit crate ends that my mom gave me a while ago, so the kitchen seemed like the appropriate place for them. I would love this wall to have a tile backsplash, but it’s probably not realistic since this is a rental and I’ve never tiled anything before. I was thinking of maybe stencilling the wall to give it a little somethin’ somethin’. Even with the crate ends it’s looking a little bare to me.

This wall is also still looking too bare so I’m going to have to come up with something creative to jazz it up a bit.

Our pot, pan and microwave rack. I think this guy has a spray paint makeover in his future. More colour in our tiny kitchen would be welcome.

I do love the extra colour that the accent wall provides. Check out this post for more info on my love bird art. I added some gold to it since I wrote that post, which helped give it some depth. I still feel like this wall is missing something though.

So that’s the space where we cook and eat! It’s looking good, but I still can’t wait for the day that we have a nice big kitchen and a proper dining room!

*Linking to Serenity Now*

Comments
2 Responses to “Kitchen/Dining Area: Before & After”
  1. twistnpout says:

    This came out great. We just retiled our entry way – luckily my uncle helped (actually he did it) but I cant imagine trying to do a back splash. I think i’ll wait till I have more practice on a horizontal surface. Which, BTW – have you thought about tiling on a board then attaching the board to wall as a back splash. I’m sure you’d have no problem pulling that off.

    • nwbnstr says:

      I definitely want to try my hand at tiling eventually, but it probably makes more sense to wait until we buy a house instead of spending the time and expense doing it in a rental property. I actually did something with that backsplash area yesterday and the post on that will be up tomorrow so come back and check out what I did :)
      The tiling a board thing would be a bit easier I bet, the only issue I would run into would be fitting it around outlets. Another reason why I don’t mind waiting a bit to try out tiling haha

Leave a Reply

