Dresser Makeover No.1

I have officially redone my first large piece of furniture, and I really love how it turned out!

I got this dresser when I was about 15 or 16 and we moved into the house that my parents are currently living in. I chose to do my room in a perriwinkle/lavender colour with mint green trim (I know it sounds terrible…it’s actually not that bad in person. And I was young, so forgive me.) My grandma gave the dresser to my mom for me to use, and it got painted using the same colours as the bedroom. This is what it looked like:

The top detail got a bit of a glaze with the purple colour, and my teenage self thought it was a good idea to put a sticker on the mirror….I guess I didn’t have the foresight to realize that some day I’d love making things over and I should just not do that and save myself the trouble of having to scrape off a 10+ year old sticker….

I really love the over all shape of this dresser, and it actually reminds me of the wardrobe from Beauty and the Beast haha

Does anyone else see that, or is it just me?

Anyway, it’s a solid wood dresser and is definitely a piece that I want to keep for a long time. If we have a little girl some day it will definitely have a place in her room, but until then it will have a home in the guest room.

Since I don’t know exactly where this dresser will end up down the road, I decided that painting it white was the safest way to go. I painted it with Behr’s Creamy White in a semi-gloss finish and replaced the knobs as well. Here is what she (this piece is definitely a she with those curves!) looks like now:

So pretty! It looks great with the grey walls, and I want to eventually get new bedding for our room and move what we currently have into the guest room so the room will have a light and airy feel.

I got the hardware at Home Depot for $1.29 per knob, wooo! So it cost less than $10 for 6 of these gorgeous little beauties:

I’m kind of in love with them. The flowery look of them goes perfectly with the feminine feel of the dresser and they look kind of antique which also fits with the vibe of this piece.

I also lined the bottom of the drawers with some of the leftover wallpaper from my coffee table project, and it too goes perfectly with the girliness of this dresser.

The Mr. actually uses this dresser and the closet in this room for his clothes, since the closet in our room is far too small for both of us and he’s wonderful and very nicely gave me the entire thing :) I wonder how he’ll feel about having such a girly dresser house his clothing? Hmmm….

So there’s the first of 2 dresser makeovers that I had planned. The second dresser is actually inside my closet, so it doesn’t really get seen, but I have lots of leftover paint from this project and an almost full can of stain left from my sunburst mirror, so it’s definitely going to get a new look! The inspiration that I have in mind for that redo is this:

That one will probably take a bit more time and patience, so I’m not sure exactly when I’ll get around to it, but it’s on the list!

Anyone else given furniture a facelift with paint recently?

*Linking to Primitive & Proper and Serenity Now*

Comments
10 Responses to “Dresser Makeover No.1”
  1. I think the new version looks more modern and definitely fits any room better than the green version! Love the lined drawers too!

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thanks! The white is definitely a much better fit with our decor and will fit in with pretty much any other room in the future. I’m very happy with how it turned out!

  2. ciaoalora says:

    I love the updated version, it looks fantastic! Can’t wait to see what you do with the other one, too.

  3. cassie says:

    it looks so sweet!! i love the shape, too! you did a great job and congrats on your first! :)

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you!! Seeing what you do and others who are pros at it makes me want to improve my skills and it’s a great inspiration for me! I’m definitely looking forward to doing more large pieces :)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I did 2 coats of primer on each one and then 2 coats of paint. I used the same paint that I painted this dresser with, and that lives in the guest room where this headboard was going to go so it’s all nice […]

  2. […] You can find out more about the dresser makeover here. […]

  3. […] put on another coat of primer. Trying to be thrifty, I was going to use the leftover paint from my dresser makeover. However, once I started brushing it on it just wasn’t going on that smoothly. I was using an […]



Leave a Reply

