Filling in the space

I decided that our TV area was slightly lacking. Lacking in fullness, style and things to fill up the space. Here is what we were working with:

Not bad, but not really that great either. So, I decided to shop my house. I moved a bookshelf that was in the office/craft room and got another bookshelf for the other side. However…I realized after the new bookshelf was all put together that I had mistakenly bought a 3 tier shelf when the one that I already had was a 2 tier. Oops! Ah well, I just decided to roll with it and it actually looks fine.

Anyway, I wanted to jazz up the backs of the bookshelves a bit. Originally my plan was to paint the backs white and then stencil something on in silver. Luckily, I happened upon this at the dollar store:

Very convenient, and much quicker and less mess than what I originally had in mind. This is what the bookshelf looked like pre-jazzing:

Pretty boring. So I slapped on some of the pretty adhesive paper (ok, I was a little more careful than just slapping it on) and this is what it looked like:

And here is what the area looks like now!

Please ignore the fact that the bookshelf on the right is a few inches taller than the other one. It’s actually not that noticeable, so I’m going to let my OCD relax and leave it alone :) And also ignore the cat scratching post and kitty condo…instead of children’s toys scattered about I have kitty paraphernalia. She is my furry child.

I got the 3 baskets at Wal-Mart on clearance from $15 down to $5. They had to be assembled, and after assembling them I understood why they were on clearance. BIGGEST pain to put together. They look cute though, so it worked out.

Now I’d just like something to put above the TV I think to fill in the space on the wall. I’m thinking maybe something like this:

I have lots of other projects up my sleeve, so hopefully I have some more time this week to work on some!!

Leave a Reply

