Desperate Landscapes: Patio Edition

If anyone else is as obsessed with the DIY Network as me, then you’ve seen the show Desperate Landscapes. A hunky landscaper comes to rescue homeowners who are embarrassing their neighbours with their lack of curb appeal. In 8 hours, a team of people makeover the outside space of the home, spending thousands of dollars, most of it just on plants. Ummm…I don’t have a team of people, and I definitely don’t have thousands of dollars. But I did have a desperate landscape…..although luckily we have a fence around the patio, so I wasn’t really embarrassing the neighbours. And if you saw some of my neighbours, I doubt my weeds would have offended them lol So, I attacked it on my own and I’m pretty happy with how it’s looking so far.

Up until a few weeks ago, our tiny little patio was a bit of a nightmare. Prepare yourselves…..

AAAHHH!!!

So sad and scraggly

The world’s largest dandelion

Rhubarb pie anyone??

Have you gotten over the terrifying sight of it? And seriously….rhubarb? There was 1 plant in the garden bed and another one randomly growing along the fence. Not sure how that happened. Regardless, it all got ripped out!! It was a dirty, sweaty job and there were a lot of very prickly plants buried in that mess. I ended up investing in some really good gardening gloves. Why oh why did I even bother with the dollar store ones?

It’s not 100% finished, I still have a few little decorative things to add to it, but it is sooooo much better! I apologize for the lack of after pictures, but I was holding off taking pictures so that I could do it in the morning when the patio gets sunlight and that’s not going to happen in the next few days since we’re supposed to have rain all weekend. So, being an impatient person, I decided to just go out in the drizzle and get a few pictures now. I’ll definitely add more once I add a few more fun details.

Here is what we’re working with now!

A bit different, huh?

I made the candle holders on the table out of old spaghetti sauce jars. Yes, spaghetti sauce jars. Classico uses Mason jars for their sauce, so I save them so that I can use them for fun things. The Mr. mistakenly put 2 of them in the recycling bin the other day. Luckily I was able to save them before they went out to the curb. How did he not realize that old spaghetti sauce jars are indeed home decor?? haha

And just for fun, here’s a side by side before and after of the main garden bed:

The one thing that’s kind of driving me nuts now is that hideous hydro meter. Sadly, it’s not going anywhere, and I don’t think I can even cover it up at all since the meter people need to get readings off of it every now and then. Oh well…it’s actually not as noticeable in person, it just seems to really stand out in the pictures.

I will add an update of the patio decor (hopefully) soon. It’s still kind of plain, but wouldn’t you agree that it’s so. much. better.??

*Linking to Thistlewood Farm and Serenity Now*

Comments
13 Responses to “Desperate Landscapes: Patio Edition”
  1. Wow, what a difference! It looks really clean and cozy. And don’t mind the rain :-) I live in Oregon, so that’s just how gardens are supposed to look to me!

    • nwbnstr says:

      I don’t mind the rain once in a while either. It’s been really dry here lately, so we needed it!
      And the patio does look MUCH more cozy now! The only thing now will be keeping on top of the weeding…ugh…

  2. How amazing! I love the DIY network, too! This is definitely worthy of your own before and after show! Thank you so much for linking up to our party and for inspiring so many who might have their own random rhubarb story :)

    blessings,
    karianne

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you! There are still a few things to finish up, but it’s SO much better than before! My front garden is in desperate need of a makeover too….

  3. My, your space cleans up nice! I love the pots in the little stone garden. Thank you for linking up at our party! :)
    Karah

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you!! The stones with the potted flowers was to spend less on flowers and to avoid having to do as much weeding haha thanks for hosting the party!!

  4. What an amazing before and after! Bravo. i have some serious “before” going on in my back yard. And the weeds are like waist high now. And my dandelions don’t just grow tall … they grow angry. As in with thorns!

    And I too use spaghetti jars as my mason jar wannabees …

    :)

    … so happy you shared at our Great Outdoors link party!

    :)

    Linda

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you!! I know exactly what you mean by thorny dandelions, I had a few of those too! The weeds just grow so quickly and then it seems like such a huge job to do anything about it!
      I definitely wanted to add some more fun decorative stuff to the patio and I would have staged the table too, but it’s been so rainy here and I really wanted to link up to the party before it ended, so wet and soggy pictures it was! haha
      And there’s nothing wrong with reusing spaghetti jars in my opinion :) We’re giving them a new life!

  5. From desperate landscape to Wisteria lane fabulous! Love your rock filled mason jars too.
    Maybe you could put a flowering vine on your meter pipe and just trim around the box.
    So glad you joined our Outdoors party.
    Kelly

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you!!

      That’s a great idea about covering the meter with a vine! It’s not permanent but would hide the ugly :)

      Thanks for hosting the party, there were so many good ideas to get inspiration from!

  6. Great job! I love the pots on the stepping stones, it’s such a cute idea.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the outside areas into better shape – I did a pretty good overhaul on our back patio this past summer, but alas it did not stay looking pretty for long. I’m really good at […]



Leave a Reply

