Faux-tatoes, anyone?

Now that we’ve had some beautiful weather consistently, we’ve been able to use our new barbecue a few times. Is there anything better than BBQ? I don’t think so.

The Mr. was in charge of cooking the chicken. How do men instinctively know how to cook food perfectly on a barbecue? My contribution was the side dishes, and I went with what we had on hand. We had some cauliflower that needed to be used, but I didn’t really want just regular old cauliflower so I decided to make cauliflower mash. I’ve seen some delicious looking recipes on Pinterest lately, so I sort of made up my own version.

Roasted Garlic and Parmesan Mashed Faux-tatoes

1. To roast the garlic, set your oven to 400*F. Remove all of the papery skin on the outside of the garlic bulb, leaving only the most inside layer of skin. Cut a bit off the top of the garlic bulb, drizzle with olive oil and wrap in aluminum foil. Place in oven (I just set mine right onto the oven rack) for 30-35 mins. After removing it from the oven, give it about 10 mins. to cool. When ready to add to the cauliflower, just push the garlic right out of the skin.

2. While the garlic is roasting, cook the cauliflower. I just boiled mine until it was soft. Pretty easy.

3. Drain the cauliflower, add the roasted garlic, butter and salt and pepper to taste. Use a potato masher or immersion blender to mash it all together.

4. Scoop onto the plate, sprinkle with parmesan cheese to finish and enjoy!

I was really impressed with how tasty this was. The consistency isn’t quite as thick as real potatoes, but it was definitely VERY yummy and I will be making this again!

*Linking to Serenity Now*

Leave a Reply

