I’ve got rocks on my wall

Ok, so the rocks aren’t right on my wall, but I did make some wall art using rocks!

I had seen this picture on Pinterest a few months ago and really liked it.

I wanted to recreate the same overall idea, but I didn’t really want to go out and buy buttons in all different sizes and colours. I decided to work with what I had on hand, so this was a FREE project. Gotta like that!

I started with 4 canvases that I’ve had for a long time….I had painted these lovely flower beauties quite some time ago, and they weren’t really doing it for me anymore. I’ve never claimed to be an artist, ok?

I wrote out the letters onto each canvas with pencil to give myself a guide to glue on decorative rocks that I had. I decided to use the word “home” since I wanted to hang these in the front hallway.

I then hit them with a few coats of primer. 3 to be exact. I really wanted to cover up my old artistic attempts. I also gave each of them a coat of white acrylic paint.

I then painted only the rocks on each canvas in a different colour using acrylic craft paint that I already had. I finished off the edges by gluing on some scrapbook paper.

And voila! Rocks on my wall.

I’d like to say that I got out a measuring tape and level and hung these all professionally, but sometimes I get lazy and just kind of wing it. So let’s just pretend that there aren’t a bunch of nail holes behind the canvases, ok? Ok.

I was also hard at work on the patio last weekend. It no longer resembles a jungle, so that’s great. It’s not quite finished though, so no pictures yet. However, coincidentally, that project also features rocks!!

I’m also really looking forward to the long weekend. I’m a bridesmaid in my friend’s wedding, so I’m pretty excited to be a part of her big day!

Has anyone else done anything creative with rocks? Any big plans for the long weekend?

*Linking up to Serenity Now and How to Nest for Less*

Comments
One Response to “I’ve got rocks on my wall”
  1. Morgan says:

    These are so cute! I like the rocks (and the price!) a lot more than the buttons in your inspiration picture. And the edges of the canvases with the paper is a great extra touch!

Leave a Reply

