I’m such a slacker

I’ve been seriously slacking on most things home related lately. I had a really busy week at work and then went home (as in where my parents live, and where I used to live) for a few days so projects and posts have fallen by the wayside. I also had a lovely weekend, watching the Mr. play ball all day on Saturday and spending some time with my future in-laws. The weather was beautiful here this weekend, so it was nice to spend some time outside.

Due to my lack of projects to post about, this post will be sort of a mish-mash of things that I should/want/need to work on and get done. Hopefully this will also help me to keep myself accountable and actually get this stuff done in a timely manner….hopefully.

Mother’s Day is this weekend and I really want to do something homemade for both of our mom’s. I found this awesome idea for an Iced Chai Tea Latte Mix:

Iced Chai Tea Latte Mix

So this has given me a gift idea, but I won’t share it yet since both moms do check in on this little blog of mine so I don’t want to spoil anything.

I also reeeeeeally need to get started on the gardens. It seems like any day that I thought I could get going on it, the weather wasn’t co-operating so it has yet to be done. It’s getting fairly desperate though. The back patio is beginning to look like this:

My gardens are looking like a weed jungle!

I also have various things around the house that need to be done, things that have needed to be done since before we moved in, but weren’t high on the priority list. I actually made a list of said things a few weeks ago and I don’t believe I’ve completed anything yet. Sigh….

Just for fun, here’s the list that I made for myself. Oh dear….

  • refinish side table in living room
  • find bench to redo for front hallway
  • make “button art” for front hallway
  • redo flooring in downstairs bathroom (NOT looking forward to this one!)
  • finish painting kitchen canisters (this is a whole story/post in itself….)
  • redo shelving unit in kitchen
  • DIY shade for kitchen window
  • organize toiletries in upstairs closet
  • organize office/craft room
  • paint bathroom vanity

So that’s my to-do list! I’m going to start on the Mother’s Day gifts and the gardens before tackling the rest of the list, but I think I’ve got enough to keep me busy for a while….

We’re also getting a BBQ this week that the Mr.’s mom and step-dad bought for us (THANK YOU!!!!) so I will be sure to have some grilling related posts up soon!

Who else is looking forward to BBQ season? What gifts are you giving your mom’s this year?

Comments
2 Responses to “I’m such a slacker”
  1. Morgan says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a lot of fun things to work on! And I might just have to steal your drink mix idea for Mother’s Day. I’ve been racking my brain for something cute and homemade, and this just might be it!

Leave a comment