DIY Upholstered Memo Board

Since becoming engaged, we have received some lovely cards from family and friends giving their congratulations. I love the thought and sentiment of cards, and these are especially lovely since they will be memories of a very special time in our lives. I wanted to display the cards somehow instead of just tucking them into a drawer somewhere, and I decided that an upholstered memo board would be the perfect way to do that. And we can eventually use it for something else when the time comes to put the cards away.

Luckily I had a cork bulletin board that I really don’t use anymore, so I decided to just cover it up to make it prettier.

I picked up some batting and fabric from Wal-Mart…the batting was baby quilt batting but I didn’t need a lot or anything too thick. I chose a grey and white patterned fabric.

I cut the batting to the same size as the cork board, double thickness to make it a bit more plush, and cut the fabric so that there was some overhang around the edges.

Next I stapled the fabric to the back of the wood trim of the cork board, pulling it tightly as I went along so there wouldn’t be any ripples in the fabric. Once that was done, I cut lengths of yellow ribbon to criss-cross over the front so that I could tuck the cards in.

I roughly measured the ribbon to be about 6 inches apart.

I was originally going to just kind of wing it, but decided that it would be better to take the time to measure so that I didn’t end up with haphazard ribbons, which would have made me angry and then it possibly never would have gotten finished. But it did get finished, and this is how it turned out:

I’m happy with how it turned out, and glad that we can display the cards now. Now I’ll just have to start thinking of ways to display all of the wedding cards that we’ll end up getting….

Comments
5 Responses to “DIY Upholstered Memo Board”
  1. Looks great. I always wanted one of these and now I can make one really easily!

  2. keiralennox says:

    Great job!! I’ve been meaning to make a few of these on a big scale for the flower shop to display thank you cards from our customers and photos of our work. I’m going to bookmark this project :)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

