Spray Paint Love, Part 2: Old Table to New Love

I’ve already mentioned a few times how much I am beginning to love spray paint, so I won’t go over that again, but I do have another spray painted project to share. I’m really excited about how this one turned out. It’s giving me the confidence to try bigger pieces of furniture!

I’ve had this corner table for about 4 or 5 years. My dad bought it for me from Wal-Mart because at the time I had a home phone and needed somewhere to put it. Fast forward to now, and who still has a home phone?? Not us, that’s for sure. So, the table went to the upstairs hallway to live. It was fine before, but I decided that it was the perfect thing to keep practicing my refinishing skills on since it’s old and not worth anything, but it’s still usable so I wanted to give it some new life.

Here are a couple of shots of the table before:

I still really like the lines of this table, I just wasn’t really into the colour anymore. So on went a couple of coats of primer, then several thin coats of Rustoleum in Aqua (the same colour that I painted the Mason jars). I really liked the way that my distressed jewellery box turned out, so I decided to give a light sanding to the finished table as well using a fine grit sandpaper. And voila!

A close up of the lovely distressed edges…I’m going to have to stop myself from doing this to EVERYTHING!

And here she is back in her spot, with a beautiful wooden vase and paper flowers that I got for my birthday last year from my lovely cousin. What a happy little burst of colour that will greet people when they come upstairs! I am officially in love with this colour :)

(Please excuse our lack of baseboard trim…it was all ripped to pieces taken off when we painted and had the carpets installed. The new trim should be going on some time this month, so until then we have some ghetto looking bottoms of our walls haha)

Has anyone else painted anything in a bright spring colour lately? Any furniture transformations to share?

 

Linking to: 

Comments
7 Responses to “Spray Paint Love, Part 2: Old Table to New Love”
  1. That is the perfect shade of blue! I’ve been debating what color to paint my side tables. Thank you for the inspiration and for linking up to our party! :0

  2. What a great color! I just adore it … and I too am new to spray paint but am really falling in love!

    Oh, and I am coveting those paper flowers!

    Thank you so much for sharing at our Crazy for Color link party!

    :)

    Linda
    http://www.itallstartedwithpaint.com

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thanks, it really is a very happy colour!

      My cousin gave me those paper flowers and the wooden vase a couple of years ago for my birthday, so I believe they came from a store in Toronto somewhere. I love them too!

  3. Spray paint is a color loving girls best friend! So glad you came to our Color party!
    Kelly

  4. April Hoff says:

    I love anything painted any shade of blue! So cute! Thanks for linking up to the “Get Your DIY On” link up party! Bring your chalkboard crafts Sunday at 7!

Leave a Reply

