In distress

The other day I posted a sneak peek into a little something that I picked up at the Goodwill for $7, and today I have pictures of the finished product.

I wasn’t looking for anything specific, but this guy jumped out at me and I figured for $7 I couldn’t go wrong! Here are the before shots of my thrift store jewellery box:

I love the little flowers etched into the glass.

All opened up…check out that sweet 80’s mirror on the back! Oh, I had plans for that, don’t worry.

And one more beauty shot for good measure.

So, I pretty much knew right away what I wanted to do with the jewellery box. This was the first piece of wooden anything that I’ve ever “refinished” so I wasn’t quite sure how it was going to turn out, but I figured a $7 thrift store find was a pretty good place to start!

I didn’t take any during shots, because it was pretty self explanatory. I taped off all of the areas that I didn’t want to be painted (the hardware, glass and felted areas on the inside). This step was kind of a pain in the rear, especially taping off the curved parts of the glass, but it was worth it in the end. Next I used Krylon Satin Finish spray paint in Ivory – partly because I already had a can hanging around, but I did also intend for it to be white or ivory so it worked out. When it was dry I went over it lightly with a fine grit sandpaper. This part I was pretty nervous about…I’ve never distressed anything and I was really worried that I would hate it and then have to repaint the whole thing, and I used up the rest of my ivory spray paint so I really didn’t want to have to go out and get more. Yeah, I’m kind of lazy like that. After covering up that tacky mirror my jewellery box was complete! Here she is in all of her glory:

I’m kind of in love with the distressed look. It was kind of artificial and too perfect looking before I distressed it, so I think now it looks beachy and well loved. I have visions of other things in my house that could use a new colour and some sandpaper action….

Bye-bye tacky mirror! I love the pop of colour this paper adds, plus it has a distressed look to it which fits in perfectly with the overall look of the jewellery box.

I LOVE the original hardware!

Now I’m faced with the dilemma of deciding what to do with my lovely jewellery box….keep it? Sell it? Give it to someone as a gift? Decisions, decisions….

Has anyone else refinished anything lately? Anyone else on the distressed furniture bandwagon?

*I’m linking up to the Weekend Bloggy Reading party at Serenity Now*

Comments
2 Responses to “In distress”
  1. Great idea, beautifully executed!

Leave a Reply

