My first thrift store find!

I decided that we needed a container of some kind for the counter to keep kitchen utensils in. I checked out Winners and there were some fairly good options there for between $5 and $10, but I knew that I could find something cheaper at the thrift store that I’d get to spruce up. So off I went to the Goodwill. I’ve only been one other time and came out empty handed, and I’ve read on many other blogs that most trips won’t turn up anything that great and it takes several trips to turn up a treasure, but I figured it was worth a look. Well wouldn’t you know, within 15 seconds of walking into the store my eye caught this little beauty:

 

It was the perfect shape and size, has a good weight to it and I also really liked the detail on the front. I actually didn’t mind it’s original look, but it was kind of gross and had a weird smell…not exactly what I want to put cooking utensils into. So I busted out some primer and slapped on a couple of coats.

 

I bought some Krylon Brushed Nickel spray paint to jazz it up, and after about 4 thin coats I can now proudly display it on the kitchen counter! (Please ignore the tacky phone outlet on the wall…any suggestions on how to camouflage that??)

 

I may still do something to the “wine cooler” image on it to bring that out a little more, but for now I’m quite happy with it :)

Anyone else make any good thrift store finds lately?

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the container only cost me $1.99!! $5 for the spray paint (which I’ll be able to use again), already had the primer….total project cost was about $7, not bad :)

Comments
4 Responses to “My first thrift store find!”
  1. I need one of those! I am using a mug at the moment. It keeps falling down :(. Cool project!

    • nwbnstr says:

      Get yourself to the thrift store! :) It’s amazing what you can find there, and for a fraction of what the stuff probably originally cost. And have you discovered the wonders of spray paint? It’s truly amazing!

  2. So very clever! Love the transformation ..

    :)

    Linda

Leave a Reply

