Slowly figuring out this blog stuff…..

I have to say that when I started this blog, I didn’t think that I would become so interested in all of the technical aspects. I just thought it would be a neat way to keep track of all of the crafty things that I do and I hoped that eventually people would start to take an interest in it and would read it and maybe make some comments. However, the more I post and the more I scour the internet for other decorating/lifestyle blogs, the more I want to improve the look of mine and become a more active participant in the blogging community. So this morning I happily stumbled upon a great tutorial to take me one step closer to enhancing how things look here at Building This Nest, and I thought that I would share it for any other newbie bloggers out there who may be feeling lost amongst all of the fantastic sites that are already around.

Sarah at Clover Lane posted a fantastic tutorial on how to create a custom banner heading for your site without using Photoshop. Making the banner was super easy, although I did have some difficulty getting the sizing right in order to make all of my pictures and text fit into the allowable space. I think that Sarah’s instructions work best for Blogger…Wordpress must have different sizing for the header image, so I honestly had to play around with it for a much longer period of time than I’d like to admit a while. I would really love to be able to put in some tips for making the sizing work best for WordPress, but I’m not even really sure how I ended up making it fit. It was a lot of trial and error! Finally though I ended up with a custom banner of pictures of just a few pieces of my life and some things that I’ve posted about and I’m very happy with how it turned out. Go download the Picasa software now (if you don’t already have it!) and make yourself a fun blog banner!

What do you think of the new look I’ve got going on? Any pros out there have any tips for me on how to better organize and lay out my blog?

Comments
4 Responses to “Slowly figuring out this blog stuff…..”
  1. Thanks for the tip on personalised banners. I am also new to blogging so enjoy finding new ways to make mine pretty :)

  2. I am going to have to visit her tutorial because your site looks awesome!!

    I started blogging at the end of January (so new as well) and have had the hardest time just getting my posts to look good (turns out others were having the same problem, switched browsers, now so much easier)! Now I want to spend time on getting my site looking good!! Your tip is just what I need…thanks!!

    Now please, tell my 5 and 8 year old that Mommy needs just a *few* minutes to work on it ;-)

    • nwbnstr says:

      You should definitely try out Picasa. Like I said, it took me some time to get it to work properly, but if you’re more computer savvy it might not be a problem for you! And good luck explaining to your children the need for just a few minutes of mommy time! :)

Leave a Reply

