Patio decor inspiration

I’ve been thinking a lot about how to design our outdoor space for summer. The weather has been so unbelievably beautiful for the last week or so, it’s been impossible to not start thinking about outdoor entertaining and relaxing on a well designed patio. We bought a patio dining set from a friend for a great price as she no longer needs it, so now I want to come up with some beautiful (and thrifty!) ideas to jazz up the patio space.

At first I was thinking that I just wanted it to be a mix of bright and summery¬†colours, but alas, that’s not quite my personality. I’m more of a decorate with mostly neutrals and add some pops of colour kind of gal. So then I started thinking that having a theme might help me come up with some ideas, and right away I pretty much knew what I wanted. I have a love for all things Mediterranean…the colours and the food! So I decided to find some inspiration pictures to share, and hopefully I can come up with an outdoor space that fits my theme!

A Mediterranean style courtyard

I immediately loved the blue tiles in this photo, and the colour of the terracotta roof tiles would be a great way to incorporate a dash of spice. I found a website that will allow you to upload a picture and will then generate a colour palette for you. I wasn’t able to upload a photo of the palette, so there is a link to it here.

Mediterranean Seaside

The colours in this one are what caught my eye. I love the soothing blue of the water mixed with all of the hits of vibrant colour. Here is the palette that the Colour Palette Generator made for me.

And one more just to round things out….

Another Mediterranean Seaside

The striped awning in this one caught my eye…it’s giving me ideas for cushions for the chairs. Sadly, the palette generator wouldn’t work for this one for some reason.

I’m leaning towards the bold versions of the colour palettes, so the patio may end up being a mix of bright colours after all! haha

I’m still on the fence in terms of flowers and plants. I love the instant gratification of planting already blooming flowers, but they can get pricey so I’m thinking about just planting seeds this year. I’ll have to do some research into that one though since I’ve never planted seeds so I don’t know exactly how to best go about that.

So, is anyone else dreaming of summer and patio/garden decorating? Does anyone have any seed planting advice for me?

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Patio decor inspiration”
  1. I love the idea of blues with pops of red — in fact, that’s the color palette that I used when I redid my porch last summer (in my pre-blog days) so I’m looking forward to cleaning it up in the next few months and making it all pretty again!

    :)

    Linda

    P.S. Thank you for the lovely comment you left on my blog!

    • nwbnstr says:

      It is such a summery colour combination without being over the top. I can’t wait to get our patio cleaned up, all of the weeds and random garbage that blew in over the winter are just gross looking! And your blog is great, I’m looking forward to following what you’re up to :)

Leave a Reply

