A (mid-March) summer treat!

Is everyone enjoying this extremely unseasonable weather we’ve been experiencing in Southern Ontario lately? I know that I have been, even if it’s really just a horrible tease since I’m sure that in a week it will be back to 5 degrees, but I’ll take it while it lasts!

This wonderful sunshine and warmth that we’ve been having has really put me into a summery mood and I’ve started checking out summer time recipes and getting ideas for the garden and patio. I decided to try out one of said recipes for dessert tonight and I must say that it was very good. It’s a Key Lime Yogurt Pie, and it must be good because the Mr. isn’t a fan of citrus desserts but he happily ate a piece and told me a couple of times how good it was :)

I found the recipe via Pinterest (shocking, I know!) and the original link can be found here. I modified it only slightly since I couldn’t find the Yoplait yogurt that the recipe calls for, but I did find Oikos Greek yogurt in Key Lime, so my version is probably higher in calories and fat than the original, but I had to work with what I could find! I also used a bit more whipped topping than the original recipe. So that being said, here’s my slightly altered version:

Key Lime Yogurt Pie

2 tbsp. cold water
1 tbsp. fresh lime juice
1 1/2 tsp. unflavored gelatin
4 oz. (1/2 cup) fat-free cream cheese, softened
4 containers (100g each) Oikos Key Lime Greek yogurt
1 cup frozen reduced-fat whipped topping (thawed)
2 tsp. grated lime peel
1 graham cracker crumb crust (pre-made or make your own if feeling ambitious!)

In a small saucepan, mix water and lime juice. Sprinkle gelatin on lime juice mixture; let stand 1 minute. Heat over low heat, stirring constantly, until gelatin is dissolved. Cool slightly, about 2 minutes. In medium bowl, beat cream cheese with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Add lime juice mixture and yogurt; beat on low speed until well blended. Fold in whipped topping and lime peel. Pour into crust. Refrigerate until set, about 2 hours.

Makes 8 servings

I also drizzled each piece with a bit of honey when serving it to sweeten it up a bit, and it looks pretty that way too! I served with a dollop of the thawed whipped topping and there you go!!

Enjoy!! :)

Comments
2 Responses to “A (mid-March) summer treat!”
  1. I have heard so much about Key Lime Pies from all the American television shows I watch but its impossible to find in Australia. I think I will have to give it a try soon – sounds delicious!

    • nwbnstr says:

      If you like citrus, you’ll love it!! There’s actually a difference between regular limes and key limes, so the key limes do have a different taste. I think a lot of the time regular lime is passed off as key lime, but it’s the same idea! This pie was soooo easy to make and was very yummy and refreshing!

Leave a Reply

