Slow cooker ribs deliciousness!

A few days ago I decided to try my hand at making ribs in the slow cooker. I can say that this is definitely something that I will be doing again!! It was super easy and the ribs were tender and moist. I used pork spare ribs, but I think that any type would work just fine. The very simple directions:

Cut ribs into pieces that will fit into the slow cooker. Season with salt and pepper on both sides. Bake at 400 F for 15 minutes, flip the pieces over and bake for another 15 minutes. Place pieces into the slow cooker, cover with about 2-3 cups of the BBQ sauce of your choice, set on low and leave for 6-8 hours.

That’s it!! It’s so simple, and so delicious! The next time that I do this there are a couple of things that I’ll do differently: 1) leave them for a little longer than 6 hours. We ate them after 6 because the Mr. had to go to hockey, and they were really good but a few of the pieces would have been even better with an hour or two longer, 2) I’ll have a turkey baster on hand to periodically baste the ribs during cooking. We tried shuffling the pieces around to get them all saucy and make sure they were all evenly coated, but it was difficult because the slow cooker was fairly full and the best thing we had to work with was a serving spoon :S, and 3) I’ll make my own BBQ sauce completely from scratch. I kind of half made it since I put a fairly large squirt of Diana sauce into the mix since I didn’t have a ton of seasonings on hand.

I served mine with some asparagus that I cooked for a few minutes in some boiling water in a frying pan then sauteed lightly with butter, garlic and salt and pepper. Yum yum!!

Enjoy! :)

Leave a Reply

