Learning what marriage is really about

The last 2 months or so have been kind of hectic for me. There’s been a lot going on….some good, some amazing, and some just plain crappy. I’ve been going through a rough time with my job situation and have had many stressed out, tear filled days. Through it all, I have had my Mr.’s wonderful, caring, loving and supportive shoulder to lean on (and cry on when I needed it).

My job situation took a detour just days before we got engaged, so talk about starting out on a good note! haha However, this has given me the opportunity to begin to understand what a marriage is really about and what is really important in that relationship.

I don’t think that I truly understood until now what it meant to be in a real partnership and what it was like to begin to care about someone else’s triumphs, disappointments and everything in between just as much, if not more, than your own. The love and support that he has shown me during this time has completely solidified for me why I want to marry him. I am 100% confident in his stability as a life partner and as someone who will always be by my side, staying strong when I feel that I can’t be and encouraging and reassuring me that everything will work out.

I know that many women, including myself, have an idea in their mind of what their wedding day will be like. I have thought about that day for many years and have high hopes that the reality will be just as amazing as it is in my mind. Having said that, I am also beginning to understand that the wedding is just a very small part of everything that will come in our life as husband and wife. The truth is, I would marry the Mr. tomorrow in front of a justice of the peace with no flashy wedding dress,  big party or 150 guests. In the end, knowing that I am committing my life to such a wonderful person is really all that I need to be happy. Everything else will just be a bonus.

I feel proud that he chose me as “the one”, and that he sees all of the wonderful things in me that some days I have a hard time seeing in myself. I feel blessed that I get to have him as my partner in crime for the next few decades or so. He truly is someone who was worth all of the heartbreak and waiting around that I had to do to get to him. So thank you sweetheart for everything that you may not even realize you do for me. It means more than I can ever tell you.

Comments
2 Responses to “Learning what marriage is really about”
  1. Beautiful post. :) That is part of what marriage is all about. Being there for one another and supporting each other in a time of need. Congrats on your engagement and good luck with all the wedding planning!!!

    • nwbnstr says:

      I’m definitely learning more and more what it takes to make a strong partnership, and it’s not always easy but knowing that I have someone who’s behind me 110% makes it all worthwhile :)
      Thank you for the congratulations, the time is flying by and I know the wedding day will be here before we know it! I plan on posting the DIY stuff that we do as we do more planning so keep an eye out for that :)

Leave a Reply

