We’ve got mail!

I decided to stop being lazy and finally hang the mirror and shelf that has been leaning against the wall in the front entrance hallway for a couple of days now. After many calculations that probably wouldn’t have made sense to anyone other than me the mirror and shelf were up. I wanted to dress it up a bit, and the Mr. had previously mentioned that it would be nice to have something to keep the mail in, so I busted out a few craft supplies and came up with a cute little mail basket.

I started with a plain wicker basket that we had.

 

Then I used hot glue to attach some grey satin ribbon around the top.

 

I then grabbed a crazy, sparkly chip board tag that I had.

 

Not quite the look that I was going for but I liked the shape, so I covered it with a neutral patterned paper, wrote MAIL on it and added a decorative paper clip for a little extra flair.

 

Then I attached the tag to the ribbon with hot glue, and voila!

 

And here’s how it looks on the shelf:

 

The basket would have been fine to use plain, but I’d rather put my creative spin on it! Anyone else love doing this too?

Have a great day everyone! :)

Comments
4 Responses to “We’ve got mail!”
  1. joreenchan says:

    *Gasp* That’s very beautiful and smart idea! :D

  2. sleepingbootay says:

    I really really love this! Such a clever idea to make such a simple piece look so cool. If I saw this in a shop, I would totally buy this! Awesome.. well done! Love the blog by the way!

    • nwbnstr says:

      Thank you!! I thought that it was a little more fun than just a plain old basket :) And thanks for the compliment on my blog, it’s nice to know that people are checking it out and enjoying what I post!

Leave a Reply

