Anniversary getaway…and a big surprise!!!

This weekend we went away to Collingwood to celebrate our 1 year anniversary (which was actually on Jan. 14). It started on Friday with an afternoon at Scandinave Spa. For those of you who haven’t been, I highly recommend it!! We spent 4 hours in hot pools, a eucalyptus steam room, getting massages and having a delicious lunch. It was by far the most relaxing day of my life! That night we went for dinner to The Leeky Canoe in Meaford. Delicious food, fun atmosphere and great service! On Saturday we went snowshoeing at Scenic Caves Nordic Centre. It was the first time that either of us had been,   and it was amazing! We couldn’t have asked for a better day…sunny and only about -2 degrees! We decided to go on the scenic look-out trail since it wasn’t too difficult and seemed to be the perfect length. We got some great pictures on the way up to the lookout:

The view from the lookout was beautiful! The trees were covered in ice and snow and the sun made everything sparkle.

Then came the biggest surprise of my life!!!!

 

I was absolutely NOT expecting a proposal! We had talked about marriage and had looked at some rings a couple of months earlier, but I wasn’t expecting to get engaged for another year or so. It turns out that he had gone back to buy the ring I loved a couple of days after we had been looking, so he’s had it since November! My sister has known since that time and at Christmas he talked to my parents and got their blessing. So apparently my family is a bunch of secretive liars haha! I had no clue that it was coming and was completely blown away. It still feels a bit surreal and I know that it will take a little bit of getting used to, but I couldn’t be happier :) We’re going to have a longer engagement, we’re thinking May 2014 for the wedding, so we’ll have lots of time to plan and make decisions. I can’t wait to get started!!

Leave a Reply

