Project inspirations…and a slight change of plans

I’ve been searching the internet for inspirations for projects that I would like to complete at some point. I’ve come across some wonderful ideas and I think I’ll be keeping myself busy for a while! The project that has been on my mind the most lately is a DIY headboard that I plan to make. I found a great tutotial here for an easy, fairly inexpensive and lightweight headboard. My initial plan was to use a black and white damask fabric, since we’re going to paint one wall in the bedroom a gorgeous deep purple (Purple Blanket by Behr) that the bed will be against, so I had this vision that the black and white would really pop off of the wall and look amazing. I had something like this in mind:

I had previously looked at Fabricland, but couldn’t find what I was looking for, so off I went to my local Len’s Mill Store in search of fabric. For those of you who have never gone through the fabric area at a Len’s Mill….let me tell you, it’s very overwhelming. There were rows upon rows of fabric and I had to wander up and down aisles for probably 20 minutes before I finally stumbled upon exactly what I was looking for. I was so excited!! Only to have my dreams deflated moments later when the employee who cuts the fabric explained to me that the only way to get the right length to cover my 60″ long headboard would involve the pattern turning 90 degrees, making it horizontal instead of vertical. HUGE bummer. It just didn’t look right horizontal, so I went up and down the aisles for another 20 minutes to find something different. I snapped some pics on my phone to later show to my boyfriend for his opinion and luckily we have agreed on something similar to this:

It won’t be real leather of course, but I think it’s going to look amazing. There’s also a good chance that I’ll add tufting, but I’ll decide that after the initial upholstery is done. Here is my inspiration for the tufting:

So that’s my plan so far for the headboard – not what I had initially envisioned, but I think the faux leather is going to be even nicer than the damask would have been.

Here are a couple other inspirations I’ve found for projects that I will very likely be making in the future:

Bookshelf Redo

DIY Roman Shade

Felt Flower Pillow

Butterfly Art

Leave a Reply

