Knitted Cup Cozy

The Mr. works for a steel company, and the other day he came home with a couple of travel mugs that a supplier had given to him. Nice little perk, but the only problem was that the company’s logo was right on the front of the cup and it was not so cute in my books. So, I decided that it needed a little “sweater” to cover it up! Can you tell I’ve got fall on my mind? haha

I would like to state for the record that I am a knitting newbie. I kind of picked it up about a year ago just from watching a couple of videos online and I didn’t actually make anything, but I did do fairly well with just randomly knitting some basic stitches that I never did anything with. So, I looked up some videos again and I was able to pick it back up fairly easily. I stuck with a straight knit stitch for the whole thing so as not to confuse myself :)

I won’t even bother trying to give a tutorial because I’m nowhere near that good, and it’s impossible for me to take pictures on my own anyway. Since I do most of my crafting during days when I don’t work until the evening, Ryan is never here to lend me a hand. So, here are some videos that I found very helpful:

1. Casting on.

2. The knit stitch.

3. Casting off.

For anyone out there who has never knit, seriously do not be afraid of it. Once you get the hang of it, it goes pretty quickly and is fairly simple if you stick to basics. When you pick a yarn, look on the package. It will tell you right there what size of needles you need to use, so it’s pretty fool proof!

I wanted my cozy to have a chunky, sweater like look to it so I picked my yarn based on that. I also liked the colour of the yarn and it was on clearance for $5, so you can’t beat that! The yarn that I used for this was Red Heart Curly Q, Super Bulky in the colour Fuschia Twist.

I will say, this yarn was a bit of a pain to work with at times because it has some stretch to it and is kind of twisty. The strand is made up of 3 smaller strands, so that made it a bit tricky at times when trying to get the large size of needles I had to use underneath a stitch. I’m happy with the end result though, just what I had in mind!

I started by casting on 20 stitches and then I knitted 20 rows with just a knit stitch. This gave me a piece that was long enough to almost wrap all the way around my cup. I just sort of eye-balled it, but there are patterns online for those who like a little more instruction :)

Anyway, this is what my piece looked like when it was finished.

I believe more experienced knitters generally weave the tails back into the knitted piece, but I didn’t have the patience to do this so I just snipped them off! It’s hardly noticeable to me, so I’m sure no one else would criticize it haha

Then I needed a way to keep it wrapped around my cup. So, I braided a small section using the yarn.

I showed where the braided section was to show how long I made it. It’s kind of hard to tell the difference between the braided part and the regular yarn since the yarn is so chunky.

I then poked the ends through the knit of my large piece and tied the ends together so that I had a loop.

(I cut the long pieces off so that they wouldn’t stick out from the back.)

Then I took a button that I had laying around that came as extra with a sweater (who else has a hundred of those hanging out in a drawer somewhere??) and just sewed it onto the other end of my knitted piece. Then all I had to do was wrap it around the cup and pull the yarn loop over the button.

This is what my cup looked like before, all naked and sad except for the not so pretty logo.

I also decided to try photographing a smaller project like this in front of a neutral background to help the picture turn out better. I realize now that I probably should have ironed the fabric first….oops.

And here’s my finished cup cozy!

I also threw it on to one of our regular at-home mugs to show that it can fit different mugs and doesn’t have to be just for a travel mug.

So there’s my first knitted creation! It’s far from perfect…I think I dropped a stitch or five along the way…but I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I may end up shortening the braided loop a bit so that there isn’t such a gap between the two ends, but I like it fine the way it is too. How cute will this thing be once the colder weather comes?

Anyone else have any knitted projects up their sleeves? Who else is crazy like me and thinks that even a travel mug can be accessorized?

*Linking to Serenity Now*

Comments
2 Responses to “Knitted Cup Cozy”
  1. This is so cute and just makes my heart smile. It is earth friendly to boot! Nice work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers

