Lamp Shade Rosettes

We have a little bed side lamp in the guest room that was a $10 Wal-Mart solution for a side table lamp a year ago. It was just fine before, but kind of boring.

My initial idea was to make a ruffled lamp shade, something like this:

However, this didn’t work out so well. I wanted to just do something quick with things that I already have on hand. I have a sheer curtain that I picked up on clearance that ended up being WAY too short when I opened it up, despite the package stating that it was a longer length….I guess you get what you pay for with clearance items!

So when I tried hot gluing strips of sheer material onto the lamp shade, it quickly turned into a big hot mess (literally ha). So, I ripped off the small section that I had attempted and was then left with a large glob of hot glue on the shade. Not so cute. Time for Plan B: fabric rosettes.

I simply twisted the strip of the sheer fabric and wrapped it around itself, hot gluing it together as I went.

I made a few in different sizes and then just hot glued it over the messed up spot on the shade, and voila!

It’s a bit hard to tell, but I glued a smaller rosette onto the middle of the largest one, just to try and add some dimension to an otherwise quite flat flower.

I like that they aren’t perfect, and the little strings poking out give it a sort of shabby chic look without looking too shabby.

I’m not totally in love with it, but it’s a little more feminine and cute now than it was and it will do until I think of something else to add to it.

I’m hoping to bust out a few more small projects today, so those should be up within the next few days. I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Lamp Shade Rosettes”
  1. Jessica says:

    It looks really cute! I am in love with that ruffled lamp shade by the way, but I don’t even know where I’d begin trying to make it!

    • nwbnstr says:

      It would take some definite patience, that’s for sure! That was part of the reason why I scrapped that idea haha maybe I’ll try it some day when I have nothing better to do for 3 hours or so!

  2. That is the sweetest touch for your lampshade. I love it. Thanks so much for visiting me at my blog today and leaving the nicest comment. I hope you are enjoying a great day.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] The nightstand is the only thing left in the room that I may eventually change. It’s a super cheap plastic and particle board number from Walmart that’s been around since my first year of college…almost 9 years ago :S I have some ideas as to what I may do to it, but it’s not bothering me enough right now to make it a priority. You can find the details on the lamp shade rosettes here. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

