I’m not too old for sprinkles, right?

Yesterday I celebrated my birthday. It was a wonderful day, complete with a massage in the morning, lunch out with some girlfriends and then a BBQ dinner and a fun night with some friends. I have officially entered my late twenties (27 to be exact), so it’s a bit frightening to think that I’m actually that old now. However, there are so many amazing things to look forward to in the next few years that I’m not really minding moving in to this next phase of my life. Actually, I’m down right excited!

We had a few friends over to celebrate, and my lovely sister made a delicious cake for me, but I also wanted to try out a fun little dessert that I came across a few months ago.

We’ve all heard of cake pops. If you haven’t, you must be living in a cave, because they’re EVERYWHERE! I think they’re adorable but they’re a bit too sweet for my liking. So when I came across a tutorial for CHEESECAKE pops, I was very excited! The tutorial that got me excited about it is this one.

I started out with a pre-made cheesecake. I know, it’s kind of cheating, but I was not prepared to bake a whole cheesecake from scratch when I didn’t even know if these were going to work out.

I then scooped out the filling using a small spoon (this would have been much easier, and I think a lot less messy, with a small ice cream scoop but I don’t have one of those).

I had a bowl of Oreo crumbs on hand to drop the goopy little balls of cheesecake goodness into.

I definitely recommend keeping your fingers wet when shaping the cheesecake into balls, if you’re working with a spoon instead of a scoop, like me. Having wet fingers will help the cheesecake to not stick to your hands as much. I don’t have a picture of this process because my hands were just a bit messy. Here’s what it looked like after the messy messiness.

I then popped them into the freezer to harden up. While they were chilling out, I dressed up the foam block I had gotten to hold them. I got a block of dry floral foam from the dollar store.

I then just glued scrapbook paper onto it to make it non-ugly.

I apologize for the horrible quality of the photo. I usually take several pictures of something to make sure that at least one comes out well, but apparently I neglected to do that. Oops. The joys of a 5 year old camera with no special features. I will have a lovely DSLR camera one of these days….

After the cheesecake balls had been in the freezer for about an hour, I melted some milk chocolate wafers in the microwave in 30 second intervals until it was nice and melty. I dipped lollipop sticks (I got mine at the bulk food store in the candy making section) into the melted chocolate and then stuck them into the cheesecake balls, then gave them a minute to set. Then I spooned the chocolate  over the cheesecake balls until they were completely covered. I tried to just dunk them into the chocolate, but they started falling apart so spooning the chocolate over them worked MUCH better for me. I then spooned sprinkles over them before the chocolate set to make them more fun.

The whole covering in chocolate and sprinkles process was kind of a giant pain. I think the fact that it was cheesecake is what made it difficult. Even though they had been in the freezer for an hour, they were pretty soft and it felt like they were going to fall off the sticks while I was covering them with the chocolate. I think the Oreo crumbs also had something to do with the chocolate not covering as easily. I had to set most of them upside down on a plate to set before I could put them in the foam block, so some of the tops were a bit flat, but it was really the only way I could figure out to do it! There was some aftermath from this whole process….

These ones came out as the “testers” haha A.K.A. they were way too messed up to serve to people!

This is what I ended up with as a finished product!

I was happy with how they ended up looking, but there are quite a few things that I would do differently if I made them again. One of the main things is that I would plan ahead so that they could sit in the freezer overnight before they got dipped in chocolate. I think that would have made things MUCH easier. These were quite a hit, but luckily there are a few left over for me!

Who says that a “mature” woman can’t have sprinkles on her birthday? :)

*Linking to Serenity Now*

UPDATE: This was featured on Serenity Now’s Weekend Bloggy Link Party: Highlighted Links!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

